Welcome To topaupairs.com, Please Sign In or Register For Free
TopAupairs Logo




Thank you for this site, I have a new Au pair and she was very easy to find on here, Thank you!
Charlie, Australia

Evy, Female Belgian Au Pair From Belgium

Evy Au Pair Profile

Date Registered: 29 Nov 2012 Last Modified: 03 Dec 2012 Last Signed In: 17 Dec 2015
Added To 25 Favourites Au Pair Signed In 7 Times Has Sent 9 Intro Messages
Contact Au Pair View Photo Gallery Add To Favourites

Brief Summary Of The Au Pair

I'am a 31 year old Female Belgian Au Pair from Gijzegem in Belgium, I would like to work as an Au Pair in Denmark, Norway, Sweden for 6 - 12 months, and I would be willing to look after children between the ages of 2 and 16 years old.

Contact Information For This Au Pair

Name: Evy
Email Address: Unlock With Full Membership
Phone Number: Unlock With Full Membership
City: Gijzegem
Region: Oost Vlaanderen
Country: Belgium

Au Pair Information And Family Preferences

Nationality: Belgian
Age: 31
Gender: Female
I Am A Smoker: No
Had Au Pair Experience Before:: 3 Years Experience
Have Got A Driving License: Yes
Years Of Education: 20 Or More Years
My Height Is: 175 cm
My Weight Is: 150 Lbs
My Health Is: Excellent
I am Married: No
I am An Au Pair Couple: No
I Have A Passport From: Belgium
Speak Fluently: Dutch, English, French, Russian
Can Speak A Little: Swedish
Seeking A Family In: Denmark, Norway, Sweden
Au Pair Is Open To Other Locations But Prefers: Sweden - Vastra Gotaland - Goeteborg
Family Nationality: Any Nationality, Norwegian, Swedish
Would Like To Work In: Big City
Earliest Date To Start: 1 April 2013
Latest Date To Start: 1 September 2013
Can Work For A Period Of: 6 - 12 Months
Children Ages: 2 - 16 Years Old
Would Accept Single Parent: Yes
Mind If Family Is Smoking: No
Can Look After Disabled Children: Yes
Will Do Housework: Yes
Can Look After Children With Special Needs: Yes
Can Look After Elderley People: Yes

The Reasons I Want To Be An Au Pair:

At this moment I am an au pair in America. I am here for a year and I take care of an 18 months old girl. The reasons I would like to become an au pair - besides the fact that I want to learn about the culture and traditions of Sweden, live abroad in a family environment and share the culture and traditions of my own country with a Swedish family - is that I want to get to know myself better by being somewhere in an unfamiliar environment for a long period. To challenge myself by getting to know new people with their own unique philosophies. I want to open my mind, broaden my horizons and look at life in a different way than Iím used to. I want to keep on pushing myself to become a more developed human being. I want to see the world, and discover it and I think that I can learn a lot from others. I take part in this program because I would like to look after children in a familiar environment and get to know them this combined with getting to know a new culture. I truly believe that I am good at dealing with children because I am patient and can empathize with them and their feelings. When Iím babysitting I enjoy playing together with the children, I help them with their school work, and read aloud to them before bed time. I do not adopt an over-authoritative attitude, nor give children too much freedom. I particularly take care of the way in which children deal with each other, adults and belongings such as their toys. I would prefer to give them a telling off for cursing or swearing than for accidentally breaking something. I am also an advocator for providing children a rather fixed structure, e.g. a well-defined bedtime. This enables the children to spend their day in a balanced way.

My Interests:

Hello, nice to meet you. I am Evy and 24 years old. I am currently working as an au pair in the States. I have really enjoyed the time I was here, but my contract with this family ends and I am looking for a new family who needs help. I have studied East-European languages and cultures at the Belgian university in Ghent. I have chosen to study Scandinavian languages as a minor. So, I followed both Russian and Slovenian, as well as Swedish. At secondary school, I already knew I wanted to study languages but had no idea which ones, until I saw a documentary about Russia and the Russian people. First and foremost, it was striking that I could not understand a word of their language. I also noticed that the inhabitants were very reserved. This immediately appealed to me and I still like the Russian language. I am amazed by the way in which Russians can fully express themselves by using very short phrases. I also love the rhythm of their language. In my second year at university, we had to choose from several Slavic languages. Ultimately, I picked Slovenian, because it sounds rather exotic and because Slovenia is a beautiful country. I chose Scandinavian languages as a minor because I once saw a Swedish children movie and the sound of the language really made me happy. Speaking Swedish sounds like singing. I am also interested in fashion, and in particular the style from Scandinavia. In many ways Scandinavians can be considered as the total opposite of Russians. Beside the languages I also learned about the literature, economy, history and culture of these countries. Generally speaking, I really enjoyed being a student, but now I am excited to start another new adventure. The first three yearsof my studies I stayed with my grandmother, who lived in Ghent and had recently lost her husband. I thought it would be odd to rent a room somewhere in Ghent, while my grandmother was alone in her house. No one likes to be alone, and I have to admit that I didnít like the thought of it either. I used to share my room with my sister, so I was not used to being alone. At the time, I did not know my grandmother very well, since we only visited her on holidays. From secondary school onwards, my sister and I could not stay at our grandparentsí home due to a lack of time and the deteriorating health of my grandfather. Therefore, I am very grateful to have got to know my grandmother better during the last three years. Initially, I found it difficult to adapt, due to the age difference and different lifestyle. Fortunately, my grandmother was always courageous and really fun to be with. Itís thanks to her I began to appreciate the small things in life. Since I did not like to be alone in my room, I always studied in the kitchen, where she was knitting or preparing some delicious food. Unfortunately, she became very ill. She passed away suddenly and because she meant so much to me, I got a tattoo of a flower chosen by her on my back. I always look forward to the summer holidays. Since my childhood we have been going to France each summer. We always travel to the south of France by car and caravan. There we look for a calm and pleasant camping site, where we stay for a month. My sister and I sleep in a tent, my parents inside the caravan. We have dinner outside, go for tiring Ė but beautiful Ė walks in the mountains, swim in lakes, catch grasshoppers, and in the evening we play party games until it gets dark. During those summer months I usually read five or more books. I have good memories of our summer holidays and still look forward to the next one. During the holidays and after school I often meet with my friends. I like cooking with friends, having a picnic, doing sports, brainstorming about the future and journeys yet to come.

Family Letter:

I hope you have a better idea of what kind of person I am. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Nice to meet your, Evy

American Au Pair

I found a host family! Thanks for your wonderful website!
Elisa, United States